Night Flight

Posted: April 23, 2010 in rhymed musings
Tags:

It’s that hour again
It’s that hour of night
When I start my descending and lonely flight.

It will take me to places I’d rather not see
From the stench of a swamp to the roaring sea
From the sunbathing peaks
To the darkness of fog
Through the air that reeks
Of a lotus and smog.

I will fly over gardens that grow in the mud
Over ruins that boast a lustrous facade
Over shattered idols that lay in the grass
Over towering statues of stone and glass.

Red carnivorous flowers, blooming below
Will be whispering my name on a rocky plateau
Their call will be strong, their smell will be sweet
Their red hungry petals will wait to deceit.
I will see three tornadoes that tear apart
A metropolis shaped like a monstrous heart
And the air will hurt and the air will cry
And the flowers in the distance will whisper “Don’t fly…”
But the castle that shines like a flame in the dark
And the star that will flash in the sky like a spark
Will be there for me, I will hear their call
I’ll be flying again and escaping free fall.

Flying over that land is my gift and my pain
Hungry flowers and stars struggle there for reign
Clock will strike and its sound will count to twelve
As I fly through the land that is known as Myself.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sarah delamere , True Me. True Me said: Night Flight: http://bit.ly/nightflight "It's that hour again, it's that our of night…" […]

    Like

  2. Rachelle says:

    This just further proves my theory. Great lyrics. Is there music to it?

    Like

  3. Angela Miller says:

    This is amazing. You’ve been blessed with the gift of words. Bravo.
    I ask the same question as the comment of above. Is there music to this?

    Like

  4. candymom+ says:

    Sarah Hello! Very Nicely written!! Like a Butterfly I Flutter around this twitter+fb and I Rub Wings with You, Unexpectedly yet, Not so Surprisingly!? Life is So Incredible…Thank You, for Being You!! I Truly Feel Blessed, Having Your Acquaintance! Love+Peace Always! candymom/or(moombeam60)

    Like

  5. psychicsarah says:

    Oh the joy of the red herring…

    ‘Riddle me this Riddle me that’

    Like

  6. Brenda says:

    Hauntingly beautiful prose.

    Like

  7. […] Unmaskd About « Night Flight […]

    Like

  8. @moli_v says:

    Truly beautiful. Somehow the “A metropolis shaped like a monstrous heart” reminds me of a photograph I saw of New York city recently…(quick search of the Internet)…that I can’st seem to find again. If I do, I’ll send it on. Great work. Merci pour la poésie.

    Like

  9. Diane says:

    Nice, sweet rhythm. It feels hauntingly lonely, isolated and peaceful. I think of how quiet the world is in these wee hours. Time to hear one’s thoughts and soul.

    Like

  10. sandki says:

    How wonderful! This reminds me of my meditations, but I cannot put them into words. How did you write this down, all in once, or bits and pieces? xxxPeace

    Like

  11. Didier Leclaire says:

    I’m glad I read this just before midnight. I would’ve hated to read something like this in the morning. I will probably re-read it then, though. It changes your perspective and therefor your interpretation.

    Like

  12. Didier Leclaire says:

    p.s. I like in Holland. It 11:33 pm here now

    Like

  13. Sunshine says:

    I find this poem comforting tonight. I’m at a place I’d rather not be. I don’t have the answers, just my experiences and new realizations, some of which I’d rather not have. Sorry everyone, especially to you unmaskd for commenting so much on your blog with a “little miss think I have all the answers attitude”. Too much thought is wearing me down. Thank you all for sharing–it’s been enriching.

    Like

  14. Sunshine says:

    Yesterday I read this several times and explored it’s depth of feeling and intensity. The part that really felt the most intense to me was “and the air will hurt and the air will cry” as if talking about a wounded torn apart heart hurting so bad and so exposed that even the weightless air hurts. The other part I especially liked was how you paired mud with lustrous facade–they work well together. Overall, what an amazing “musing” as you call it. [I just noticed something about the word musing – musi (music) musing (sing)].

    This evening I’m listening to lyrics and sound and I couldn’t help but pair up different parts of the music of Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Free Bird” with your lyrics here. Of course the different parts wouldn’t pair up in the same order and exactly the same way, nor would all be used, but the setting of the feeling is there and it would be lower and slower to express the pain better. I wonder if you see it too or if this is just a wierd compilation in my head. I don’t know the different names for the parts of music to better explain what I mean, but give a listen and tell me what your thoughts are on that. I also hear a beautiful sound to slowly played piano and then this intense ending for the last line or just on the word “Myself”. What kind of sound and instruments are in your head on this? Just curious.

    Like

  15. Sunshine says:

    Oh my gosh…and mix in some Neil Young’s “Hey, Hey, My, My” on that, especially the metropolis part. Exciting isn’t it! What sound do you hear for it (or maybe you even already have sound you’ve created for it). Too bad you can’t share that kind of stuff with us because of the mask–or maybe there’s a way to add the sound in animoto?

    Like

  16. Sunshine says:

    I like the old version of “It’s that hour again, that our of night” because it sounded like more than one part of you with an eerie feel to it.

    Like

  17. dancergypsy says:

    I cannot begin to express with words how much this has encouraged, lifted and inspired me– most recently. These lines especially:

    Red carnivorous flowers, blooming below
    Will be whispering my name on a rocky plateau
    Their call will be strong, their smell will be sweet
    Their red hungry petals will wait to deceit.
    I will see three tornadoes that tear apart
    A metropolis shaped like a monstrous heart
    And the air will hurt and the air will cry
    And the flowers in the distance will whisper “Don’t fly…”
    But the castle that shines like a flame in the dark
    And the star that will flash in the sky like a spark
    Will be there for me, I will hear their call
    I’ll be flying again and escaping free fall.

    So many moments I return to this poem as a reminder to maintain my faith and focus in the direction of my dreams, when I am often tempted, by the sweet-almost-convincing voices around me saying “Don’t fly…”

    This poem is a blessing in my life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

