Mind, Food and Ice Cream

Posted: July 2, 2010 in what makes us tick
Tags: , , , ,

Having defined a tagline for my blog, I’ve discovered that a lot of things, which otherwise would be classified as random stuff, actually fit quite nicely into “What makes you tick?” Because quite a few things make me tick or at least affect that ticking.

For example, here’s a seemingly random idea that has occurred to me today. See, I don’t like fatty foods. Not because of health implications, but simply because I don’t like how they taste. That taste of dripping fat immediately makes me look for a cup of water. But I also don’t like fatty mindfood. I like lean and mean words that have some meaning and purpose. If I have to listen to or read some fatty blah-blah-blah I want to rinse my mind.

Same goes for sugar — I like it in limited quantities, but any food that is too sweet is not on my menu. I’d much rather eat something salty or spicy. Again, same with mindfood. When I hear super sweet talk I want to (and often do) ask to drop all the sugarcoating. I’d rather deal with spicy straight-to-the-point talk.

I am always up for trying some new food, no matter how weird it looks. I can’t say I really enjoyed eating those snails in China or frogs in France, but I did taste them. Same with books, movies or any other food for mind. Akutagawa’s short stories and English Patient left me equally unmoved despite all the buzz, but I surely tried.

The list goes on. I like firm fruits, not softy-squishy kind of fruits and veggies many enjoy. I don’t care for expensive food if I don’t like its taste. Oh, and I like fresh stuff. It must be easy to guess how all these preferences translate into my likes and dislikes when it comes to mindfood.

At the very beginning of the Unmaskd story, when my identity was still the dominant theme of the discussion, one of my Twitter followers (if you’re reading this you know who you are) asked me about my favorite ice cream flavor. Back then I dismissed this question as irrelevant. Now I’m not so sure. In fact, I’m sure that the connection between our food and mindfood tastes is much stronger that it may seem.

What is it like for you? Or is just me fantasizing after eating one too many sweets?

Comments
  1. Klassp says:

    Agree with the mindfood concept, but can’t say I agree with the food food concept. haha (laughing at “food food”) LOVE sweets, so much i have to force myself to remember to stick to my diet as I’m in the midst of training. But, my mind is ALWAYS in need of stimulation, and not gossip blog, heavy use of “like” “um” “duh”, has no intellectual meaning, stimulation. I want full blown debate about philosophy, religion, education, race, sexism, BP, politics, everything that could potentially create a really uncomfortable situation. Is that bad?

    and I hate that BP just became it’s own subject, among the likes of philosophy and religion.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Lately I’ve been eating whenever I remember to… and then when that happens it’s whatever is around. Not so healthy. I just need this stuff to survive the next 10 minutes or so yea? So maybe in “mind food” that means I don’t eat to taste. And then whatever I do taste works for me, so we get along… and then I say goodbye. If you are to come around again, I may or may not eat you… but chances are, I will. And we’ll both have a good time.

    Says the girl who just ate an entire pack of Red Vines topped with a Black Cherry Soda.
    hmmm…

    Like

  3. psychicsarah says:

    Be careful of your words….in case you have to eat them later?!

    Like

  4. psychicsarah says:

    That’s a *Pistachio* loving writer speaking … haha

    Like

  5. Amy says:

    Absolutely agree that a person who is adventurous when trying new foods is going to be the same in life. Taking things to the extreme, just to say I did it, or in this case, I ate it. Another example where food and personality/behavior intertwines, a person who likes to cook and serve their food to others. It’s been my experience that a person like this is generally a loving individual that wants to nourish not just the body but the soul as well.

    Like

  6. Ashley Clifford says:

    I’m from the mid-west. I’m a meat and potatoes gal 😉 I like the stuff that sticks to your ribs! That being said, I’m a lover of food. I’ll eat most anything I get my hands on! Same with my mind I’d venture to say. I like the meat and potatoes, long lasting/stick to your ribs stuff 😉 I’m curious and want to see/know everything I can get my
    hands on! Honestly, the list of things I don’t like
    is shorter than the list I do. I love to cook for
    others! I’m pretty good at it too 🙂 I also love fresh fruits and veggies. I like my palate to be balanced out…sweet and salty following one another. I always have to have a drink while eating.
    All this being said, I’m actually a little nervous about trying new things (ie frog legs ect) and don’t know if I like expensive food because I’ve never had it lol! So I can see this being applicable. I’m scared to try new things in life at first too but do best when there is a “host” involved then I’m in! And I usually find myself glad I tried..just takes a nudge or two and then it’s like a rush! Like when you’re scared to ride that huge rollercoaster but your friend talks you into it and all through the line you wanna turn around and maybe you’re scared as Hell! But once you’re off the only Hell in your mind then is “Hell

    Like

  7. Ashley Clifford says:

    Yeah!” Your blood is pumping and you say “let’s do it again!”. Yeah, it’s kinda like that..lol!
    Funny thought: I love marshmallows yet can’t stand thoughts or ideas full of fluff. Hmm..
    Thank god I have an amazing metabolism! (thanks Dad!) 🙂

    Like

  8. JD78 says:

    Most sugarcoating attempts to hide a disappointing and somewhat tasteless center both in food and in people.

    Salty and spicy is where its at. No one has ever ended up with a cavity of either the dental or mental variety from a meal or conversation flavored with habanero chili pepper.

    Maybe that’s why the phrase “Variety is the spice of life” seems so much more fitting versus “Variety is the sucrose of life.”

    Like

  9. Nicole Hyatt says:

    I don’t like crappy food, or dramatic (fussy food) I believe food should taste good. I like I’m pretty simple overall, I like fresh food. I would like to think I’m willing to try new things…but when it comes down to it I’m more likely to go for an old favorite. I’m a creature of habit. I like the comfort…and when it’s not the same as it was before I feel slightly let down. Ya my food defines me, to a certain degree. And my favorite ice cream is called Wedded Bliss from a sweet little shop called the Spotted Cow…:)

    Like

  10. i prefer fresh foods too, i do eat some junk though….but if i had the choice over a big mac or sushi, i would indeed pick sushi! i dont eat alot of ice-cream but lately, even though it has been freezing cold here in Sydney, of a night, i have craved vanilla ice-cream with ICE MAGIC (choc sauce that sets hard) 😀 so i have been eating that and getting serious brain freeze! LOL….i love fresh fruits, prefer salad over vegies and i love seafood and and anddddd chocolate! but my favourite ice-cream is raspberry, vanilla and white chocolate!

    Like

  11. psychicsarah says:

    I like words which resonate as *truth*….how that equates to foods?

    Plain, simple & unadulterated…

    Yet you can come up with some pretty groovy combinations even with the basics….NO additives!!!

    Don’t like fancy, fussy, pretentious foods…

    But if it tastes good & is authentic it hits the *spot*… & aids the digestion…

    Good food & paletable words combine taste, beauty & authenticiity

    Like

  12. xxx says:

    Food and mindfood is related for my part.

    For many years I was intrigued by people who were able to fast, I tried 4-6 times, but at 5 pm the first day I could not do it anymore. I woke up one morgning and knew that this was the day for another try. I noticed after a couple of days that my mind started playing tricks on me, I would only think of all the incredible healthy things I could eat, salads, veggies etc. I was able to ignore my mind, and was amazingly able to fast for 11 days straight.

    When I finished I simply decided to leave my meat/chicken/fish/diary diet, and only eat the food that my mind had been craving. It has been like that for a half year now (think I fit under the happy vegan category).

    I have been a bookie all my life, but the last few years more and more interested in spiritual texts & books, so yeah, I think it is related. It is a bit odd though 🙂

    Like

    • Sunshine says:

      Hey xxx, I fit in the happy mostly vegan category (I don’t purposely eat egg or dairy, but if something has dairy or egg in it on occassion and I eat it, it makes me vegetarian and not vegan–so I just call myself vegetarian). Why do vegans, vegetarians and raw foodists have to identify their food preference with identifying them by a label? Meat eaters don’t go around saying they’re a carnivore. Just an odd observation about herbivores, but certainly happy to be labeled as such. Speaking of herbivores, did you know humans have the digestive system of an herbivore, not a carnivore and that meat putrifies in the human body? No wonder my body feels happier eating this way!

      Like

  13. Dawn says:

    I think my food-food and my mind-food patterns are similar too. I like sweet and spicy, sugary and salty foods. I have similar patterns in the books I read, the movies I watch and the music I listen to. I like to try new things but I cherish the old favorites as well. Sometimes I read books that simply tell a story and require no thought at all. There are days that I just can’t bear the thought of having to *think* about anything I’m reading or watching. I just want to feel good or have a laugh. There are other days though when I need to challenge my mind. I need to absorb some intense musical lyrics or get lost in a novel that requires thought and analysis. Likewise, there are times when I need to eat the fruits and vegetables and not just chocolate and ice cream. The end goal is the same though, to satisfy the needs of my mind and body.

    Like

  14. Jolanda van Ammers says:

    Can your preferences in food translate into your likes and dislikes when it comes to mindfood or other aspects of your life? I’m not sure, but I’m willing to take a closer look. Let’s, for instance, take my preference in restaurants and food. I firmly dislike fancy restaurants and prefer the smaller, homely kind where I can enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, where I can relax and where I don’t feel on display. The same goes for my preference in food. I like my food recognizable, honest and without a lot of fuss. Put a plate with “art food” in front of me and my mood goes down South. Put something new on my plate, and I’m fascinated, especially when I’m abroad trying strange new things. Does this translate into my preferences when it comes to conversations and people as well? Yes, I do see some similarities. I don’t like flashy people, or people who thrive on attention. The people who want to be seen and heard, who need constant input to feel good about themselves and put themselves above others. I instinctively stay away from them and close up. The opposite goes for people who are a little different but confident about themselves, like that girl in high school with the purple Mohawk hairstyle. They interest me, the people who look further than skin deep or the clothes you wear. The people who focus on who you are and not on what you look like. The same goes for conversations. I don’t need “art” in my conversations and the use of “lines” make me twitch. Don’t feed me bull or suck up to me, I see right through you. The best conversations are those that are not planned or rehearsed. Just simple and honest conversations with people who speak their minds, people from all walks of life, people who mean what they say and actually listen. Simple but meaningful conversations; simple and honest food. A simple but meaningful life…. Yes, I do think there is a link…

    Like

  15. Phil says:

    I’ve not thought of the connection before this blog, and after reading, I can’t not think that mindfood and food choices run parallel in my life.

    For example, I love sweets, but only a litle at a time. If something’s too richly sweet, I feel sick. I like little bites of sweet, rich food. And as sappy and sentimental as I am, I think this is true of how much sweet mindfood I allow in my life. Sweets are good when given and taken in sincerity. Like a rich dessert, a little goes a long way. No one’s really that sickly sweet all of the time, and if they are, they probably have high blood pressure. It’s feel disingenuous to hear, and I can’t trust that.

    I like spicy food. I’m the one among friends that has a sweating forehead and tearing eyes because I HAD to try something new. This is probably because of the cultural cuisine on which I was raised, but I think that describes how I like conversations with friends as well. I like tart, zip, tangy subjects. Things that have bite. It gets my blood going (although I don’t bring a sweaty forehead to the conversation) and I can yap and listen for hours. I like challenges to look at things differently, a good argument (not in anger)—and the topics don’t have to be the big intellectual guns of politics, philosophy—it’s usually something that has to do with our lives. I guess there’s a time and place for politics and philosophy, but I don’t know if they fit into the spiciest mindfood category as of late. Lately, if I’m going toe to toe with someone about politics, it doesn’t feel like I’m talking with a person, it’s as if I’m listening to Fox News’ recycled ideas on a subject. That’s not spicy. Spicy is original, think on your toes, firing on all cylinders in the moment kind of mindfood.

    Oh, and there’s texture. It has to feel good in my mouth. Velveeta is gross—I can feel it congealing and plasticizing AS I’m eating it. I’m not sure how this relates to words.

    Like

    • Ashley says:

      “Oh, and there’s texture. It has to feel good in my mouth. Velveeta is gross—I can feel it congealing and plasticizing AS I’m eating it”
      HAHA that is hilarious! I love velveeta…;)

      Like

  16. unmaskd says:

    Well, it sounds like I’m not alone on this curious connection.

    Like

  17. Every journey you take, whether its to the refrigerator or on the road to your dream is a journey of your choosing. Find a way to enjoy the journey and your dream will do a curious thing. Instead of being out in front of you, it will walk next to you. The destination will then become meaningless and the journey will become the realization of your dream.

    Like

  18. joannabhappy says:

    If I were ice cream, I would totally wanna be Kickass Krunch. With sprinkles.

    Like

  19. Brittany says:

    I work in a deli, so I deal with food every day. I get a disgusted feeling seeing the exceeding amount of oil, we use everyday in the fryer for our food. I cook it so much, I can’t stand the thought of going to the deli and getting food on my own time.

    It has and still saves me money and a unclogged artery in the long run. 😉

    I also take a lot of medication and that has had a reverse and strange effect on my taste buds.

    Like

    • Sunshine says:

      What we’re exposed to seems to form our tolerances and preferances. I had Gross Anatomy in college (yes, it was gross–the lab was working on cadavers–right before lunch) I lost my appetite for meat for a very long time and could detect the smell of formaldehyde in anything. On the flip side, it was pretty interesting once you got past the coldness of the dead bodies and the body parts in trays!

      Like

  20. Sunshine says:

    Does anyone else see a large green clown nose with green bushy eyebrows on the face in the picture posted here–did Chuckles the Clown make you smile?

    For me, food is powerful–it can nourish and give quality of life or, over time can destroy life itself and lead one to their death bed (too much fat, too much sugar, too much fast food, too much meat causing an acidic environment opening the door to disease, etc.) YET, food being so powerful has the ability to restore that same person back to a vibrant life–I saw it happen with my own eyes. And so it is with the power of thought and words–they can build up or tear down, they can be pleasing and satisfying or horribly destructive. My mindfood is my continual quest for information that gives truth to satisfy my hunger for knowledge, stimulate my intellect, satisfy my curiosity and challenge my imagination.

    It does not matter to me if something is salty, sweet, squishy or firm as much as the qualities of the foods I select to nourish, satisfy and sustain. I love experiencing new foods within my scope of preferences. I desire fresh, locally grown, organic produce. I enjoy exploring new tastes at the farmer’s market and discover a lychee fruit that the farmer cuts open for me to try or tasting goji berries for the first time at the health food store is all part of the wonderful journey of discovery.

    My brain’s palate is satisfied with stimulating conversation, learning something new or delving deeper into what interests me, hearing a unique perspective, seeing or hearing a combination of words that makes me pause and say, “wow”! I am intrigued by that which is different and like the path less traveled.

    I know what I like and I stick with it. I gravitate toward people, books, movies, poetry, photographs and music that are unique, stretch my mind and imagination with an element of surprise through unpredictability—that which doesn’t seem to go together at first glance but has a symbiotic relationship. Take me to what inspires me to want to share it or take action making a positive impact to help others. I thrive on resolution.

    Like

Leave a Reply

