Google+ Open Letter Impact: 2K views, Facebook account suspended

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Social Tech
Tags: , , ,

The headline of this post says it all. The post had attracted more readers in day than my very rarely updated blog gets on a typical week, which it gets mostly through search. In other news, my Facebook account has been suspended for… yes, you can guess it, violation of their real name policy. I believe in coincidences in life, but I’m very skeptical when it comes to pure coincidences in tech. I’ve had Facebook account for a year now, but somehow it got suspended within 24 hours after I mentioned it in my post.

Assuming that someone at Facebook indeed took note of my letter, I’d like to inform this person that I have no slightest intention of disclosing my real name to Facebook users. As for the company itself, most likely it already has this information somewhere in the bowels of its servers, since I’ve been using my other Facebook account from the same devices. Just like in the case of Google+ I have no complaints, since it’s the company choice what policies to to enforce on its sites. It is then users’ choice whether to accept the policy or not. My choice is walk away, taking with me all the social interaction and searchable content that Facebook was getting through my my account.

So far 3 companies (Google, Facebook and Quora) have decided that I cannot use their social services without disclosing my real name to other users. My only consolation is the fact that this leaves me in the great company of people like George Eliot, Lewis Carroll, Ayn Rand and Banksy.

Comments
  1. Rianah says:

    My most transparent social networking interactions will either be on my fictitious accounts or privately messaged on my real name accounts (mostly the former). With my fictitious accounts, if i have wanted someone to know who i really am, I have managed to find ways to let them know. We have then developed more personal one-on-one relationships from there. Nothing romantic, just as closer friends.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    I guess there is something out there for everyone.

    Like

  3. inkspot says:

    I always said I would never sign up for Facebook. Social networks are not for me. (If someone created an anti-social network I’d be there like a shot) I don’t like the idea that my family and friends can sit and watch my life unfold from the comfort of their computers, view the things I “like” and read the comments I post on various sites. It’s not that I’m a secret troll or post hate-filled messages … it’s just nobody else’s business.

    So one day my son needed another ‘friend’ for his Facebook game and he begged me to sign up. Me being a doting mother I agreed and signed up with the name “Aston Martin”. Not only did I use a fake name but I also created a new email address specifically for the purpose which had nothing of my real name in it. Despite all that, as soon as my account was up and running Facebook asked me if I wanted to ‘friend’ my son, daughter and husband. I know they probably picked up on our shared ISP, but that’s still downright scary and big brother-ish. My son ended up taking the account over and renaming it with his own name, but I know I wasn’t the only Aston Martin on there.

    Anonymity isn’t always a good thing. Some bad people hide behind false names and say some awful things. The difference is, with Facebook and Google+, they know who you are, where you are and sometimes even who you live with. When they hold that much information about us already, I don’t see any harm in them allowing us to give ourselves a name we feel comfortable with. Even if they did I still wouldn’t have a Facebook account. I prefer to swim against the current.

    Like

  4. Heart-to-Heart says:

    What I find most disappointing, a person’s account is suspended for simply protecting their privacy, but Google+, Google (in general) and Facebook are in violation of discriminatory and contradictive practices among their own policies concerning services each offers. Both companies find its perfectly acceptable to track every move a person makes. Isn’t this considered stalking in a sense? I think so.

    A person’s anonymity can be for several reasons as long as their intent is not breaking any federal, state or local laws. Which in this case, a positive community was created by Unmaskd about life. Where a person can express their thoughts without being judged.

    My two cents vented.

    Like

  5. Heart-to-Heart says:

    I would like to add: Thank you Unmaskd for continuing this helpful community by committing with the new web address now know as unmaskd.com Looking forward to learning more about ourselves through future thought provoking discussions as I have the past.

    Like

  6. JOnKEnna says:

    In UK you can legally call yourself whatever you want (it won’t change you actually birth name of course) so I don’t understand why you shouldn’t call yourself anything on Facebook.

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    When I used to be on Facebook (have since discontinued) I signed up not using my real name. I’m in a profession where I am known a little outside of just family and friends, and I wanted the Facebook to be something private. So I didn’t use my real name. There was no way for them to tell it wasn’t and I never got flagged…so unless they’ve somehow made it that when you sign up you have to give a veriable ID like a social security number, they’re not going to know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

