Make It Or Break It

Posted: September 23, 2011 in a lonely journey, motivation, procrastination, what makes us tick


When a year ago I posted my letter from a swamp, many of my readers assured me that procrastination is a very natural thing. You know, some of them said, maybe there’s a good reason for it. Maybe you actually need it. Back then I didn’t agree with that point of view, finding it too convenient and relaxing. But today, a year later, it seems rather attractive. Because seeing it this way would mean that I’ve just done something natural, maybe even necessary, as opposed to just wasting a couple of hours of my life. It would also mean that I didn’t shy away from a challenge, which is what it suspiciously feels like.

About a month ago I set a pretty challenging goal for myself. I was generous and gave myself plenty of time to accomplish it. The deadline is September, 28th — a date that means a lot to me. The goal came with a twist. It was set as a “make it or break it” deal, meaning that if I fail to accomplish it by the deadline, I would never accomplish it. While the deadline was somewhat arbitrary, the “make it or break it” part wasn’t. In the past I’ve made deals like this with myself and the only reason they really worked was that down to the bottom of my heart I knew that it was serious. But this time I maybe a bit over my head. As I get closer and closer to the deadline, it becomes harder and harder to fight the “natural” and “needed” procrastination.

My guess is that by succumbing to it, I’m subconsciously trying to avoid a failure. There would be a internal excuse that would leave some room for “hey, I could’ve done it, had I not been weak” reasoning. But deep inside I know better. Just a few days from now I will either accomplish that goal — or fail. Whether I fail because I’m not capable enough or because I’m not strong enough, the reason won’t matter. A failure will be a failure, no matter how I choose to decorate it. The only thing that matters is the result.

Stay tuned…

Comments
  1. It really sounds like you are setting yourself up for what is in your mind a *Failure*…

    Deadlines have a function…. to help us *Make or Break* something… Even so… the UNiverse honours SWIFT action… it doesn’t like excuses…

    @ the same time the Universe is forgiving… There is really nothing wrong with *pick yourself up and start again*….

    Maybe if you acknowledge what you see is weakness…. which you kinda just DID…. then you will be releasing the block which is apparently preventing you from achieving whatever *IT* is…

    You have just been brave enough to share it with the world… SO…Y not just see…

    I’ll be thinking of you in the approach to 28th!

    But always remember… *Never say Never*… It’s nearly the *silliest* thing we can ever say! 😉

    #theuniversewillfindawayifyouareseriousenough #YOUwillfindawayifyouareseriousenough

    Equally…. why not try to be a little LESS serious about this and see what happens…. Relaxing and trusting is NOT the same thing as *Procrastination*

    Take action YES…. but then be receptive to how it can all fall into place…

    The perfect balance between too much *couch sitting* and futile misdirected *over action* is probably needed here….

    GO for is MAsky! 😉

    Like

  2. If you are SURE in your heart this is what you want….then the *timing* factor may be all you are waiting for…

    Sometimes what we THINK is the perfect Timing has a PERFECT delay button which will ultimately make COMPLETE sense…

    So… be gentle with yourself… MUCH less critical… Release *perfectionism*… Then the PERFECT scenario can come to greet you with arms wide open…

    Step forward … Breathe… then Wait!

    #rollon28th

    Like

  3. You just made me curious 🙂

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    There’s a theory the world will end the 27th!

    Like

  5. This might be the best anti procrastination passage EVER?

    #veryinspiring #hopeithelps 🙂

    >>>>

    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.

    Until one is committed
    There is hesitancy, the chance to draw back
    Always ineffectiveness.

    Concerning all acts of initiative (and Creation)
    There is one elementary truth
    The ignorance which kills countless ideas and splendid plans:

    That the moment that one definitely commits ones self
    Then Providence moves too.

    All sorts of things occur to help one
    That would never otherwise have occurred.

    A whole stream of events issues from the decision
    Raising in one’s favor all manner
    Of unforeseen incidents and meetings
    And material substance
    Which no one could have dreamt
    Would have come your way.

    Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it.
    Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.

    GOETHE

    Like

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hey is this a cliffhanger? Or does this project carry into weekends? We have to wait to hear about it after the weekend?! #bummedout

    Like

  7. Atta boy. Let’s get those ashes burning, tiger!

    I do question your comment RE “The only thing that matters is the RESULT.” I disagree. In my mind there are two very different things that matter. At the level of external goals, the thing that matters most is that we did our very best. At the level of the spirit, the thing which matters most is “How well did we love?”; and by this I mean, “unconditionally love”. We will never be perfect, in the worldly sense. There will always be something we can improve upon. But, at the level of the spirit, I’m with Rumi:

    “Out beyond the ides of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field. I’ll meet you there.” ❤

    As for procrastination, I love your reference of being "suspicious" as to what your real motive may be, for procrastinating. I've never heard it articulated this way. I can relate. I can't tell you the amount of times i have shied away from giving myself, fully, to a goal because i didn't want to be disappointed in the end. I'm realizing, as I write this, that the opportunity in giving my all and perhaps being disappointed is to learn to "rise" from the ashes and keep going…so I can find out what I'm made of, as you speak of, so well. : ) Fight on!

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Failures don’t get their slack lifted one way or another

    Like

Leave a Reply

