Waking Up in a New World

Posted: February 1, 2012 in a lonely journey, what makes us tick
Tags:

Imagine this situation. A man wakes up in a world he knows nothing about. It’s full of objects he’s never seen before. It’s full of people he’s never met before.

He doesn’t speak the language they speak. In fact, he doesn’t even understand the very basic concepts they rely upon. He knows nothing about their society, history or traditions. He is completely socially handicapped and wouldn’t survive in their world without help for more than a day. For some reason, he also faces enormous physical challenges. He is much, much weaker than people surrounding him. He can hardly move. He can hardly see. He can’t speak a word even when he tries imitating others. He’s completely at their mercy.

And on top of all that he knows nothing about his past. He has no idea where came from. He doesn’t know his own name. He is clueless of who he really is. He has no past and his future is completely uncertain.

Luckily for him, the people surrounding him are nice. They feed him. They keep him warm. They help him become stronger. They also teach him their language, introduce him to the basics of their society, and make him feel more at home. They even give him a new name.

Days go by, and he becomes more and more accustomed to living in their world. Eventually he starts thinking about it as his own world. Occasionally he still wonders who he really is, how he ended up in their world and what his purpose in life had been. But the world around him keeps him busy. There’s so much to learn to become a fully functional member in that extremely complex society. So many things, customs and traditions to understand. So many facts to memorize. So many tiny goals to accomplish. And eventually he stops wondering about his real identity. He’s happy with the one his new world has given to him. He’s just too busy to wonder about things like this. And so he gives up without even realizing this. His happiness is no longer about finding out his real purpose or who he really is. It’s about succeeding in the world he lives in.

It could have been a plot for a sci-fi novel. But it isn’t. This is the story of everyone of us. You. Me. Countless others.

Whether it’s sad or happy, it’s up to you to decide.

Comments
  1. S.A. says:

    maybe his purpose in life its to succeed and how he see the success or fail of the things he made as a goal during life .
    congrats its a very interesting text , that make us to do an auto analysis to see in the end who we really are .

    Like

  2. […] Waking Up in a New World « Unmaskd. Share:E-mailFacebookTwitterVind ik leuk:LikeWees de eerste om post te […]

    Like

  3. Sunshine says:

    Excuse me for getting overly enthusiastic, but this, THIS is your masterpiece, the one combination of words that ties together your entire blog and musings. Back when you first posted the Vladimir Kush painting and statement, I couldn’t get it out of my head for months. Then, nearly a year later in a weird sort of way, the song “Rocky Mountain High” by John Denver matched up that painting and statement for me (I’m sure Vladimir did not have that tune stuck in his head when he was painting it, nor are there mountains but for me it was that song that stuck to the visual). Then you wrote this, THIS beautiful writing and it goes hand in hand with the painting. While you probably were not writing about the painting, I wonder if it made an impact on you and those words came to you as the picture on the canvas came to life for you inside your heart. Maybe you even went to see his work when you were in Hawaii and were inspired then. Your post expresses your feelings and I see completely what you mean — it tied together your previous posts so beautifully, letting forth a flood of understanding. Like puzzle pieces that were scattered, they now fit together and the picture is almost complete. Vladimir Kush’s work speaks volumes about life and love, don’t you think? I hope you send your post to Mr. Kush — he would surely be honored to hear your thoughts that meld into one with his painting.

    Are you wondering what I think is so amazing behind this post? It is a LIVING piece of information! It’s not often one runs into such a writing. It’s so rich in content and open-endedness that it applies to so many different lives and situations that it changes depending on the perspective you read it from or the situation you place the character in — and of course the outcome is different for everyone. It is so deeply filled with emotion with a glass half empty, glass half full effect. It is alive in that by reading it, it reveals to the reader what they need to hear. That, my friend, is genius!

    What also comes to mind is the movie Awakenings (which also came to mind when you blogged about Awakenings). Though I have not seen it, I recall hearing a brief synopsis of what it is about it — now I will have to see it. The first time I read this yesterday, I had an awakening that each new day can be lived with a newness like you are experiencing things for the first time each moment and that realization filled me with this incredible awareness like never before. We always think we are living a certain way, but the same monotonous day after day things can dull the mind if you let them, but your post breathes life into every moment, waking the spirit inside the body, stirring the mind, creating a feeling of aliveness! This post is about searching hearts and the feeling of being lost, not belonging and wanting to understand and be understood, finding our place in the world and not just surviving but feeling alive while finding our way at the same time. It goes even beyond my mere words in trying to express how deep it goes. I read it from several different perspectives, plugging it into the emotional part of people, the relationships of people, the deep places of going into the fog alone. It begins with such pain and moves into a numbness and finally into an acceptance to the present moment. I can see why you don’t need a red or blue pill or any other color anymore because you have let go and indeed are merging into one accepting your life and self. I respect you for opening up and sharing your thoughts — maybe without the intention of enlightening others as you go along in your lonely journey, you have indeed enlightened me as your words reflect such depth. All I can do is exhale and say, “Wow!” This post filled me to overflowing and is one I will keep in the front of my mind. I have gotten so much out of your post that it feels as if I have taken something from you, but instead I hope my words fill you with the enthusiasm it brings forth in me.

    Like

    • Unmaskd says:

      Thank you. This idea is something I’ve been pondering for a while. That said, I think you’re too generous in your praise 🙂

      Like

      • Sunshine says:

        I think it’s okay to tell someone you really like something if you truly do and to tell them you don’t like something if you truly don’t. I’m not going to apologize for my exuberance over the piece (although I guess I did in starting with, “excuse me for getting overly enthusiastic”). Anyway, weeks later, I feel the same way that this IS your masterpiece. Put all my “generous praise” out of your head now and just know this:

        Like

    • And speaking of identity, I changed my name for a day to see how it felt. Pretty natural actually but would you want to change your name if it meant loosing the initials “ask?” What is a name anyway? Very confusing for a female only child for sure. Marry or not marry. Take another name or don’t take another name. But it has to sound good too. What about the children if there are any? I suppose sisters without any brothers go through the same back and forth but for what? This story you share sounds a lot like what happens to anyone who has to move to a new environment for whatever reason but a younger person especially who maybe hasn’t yet developed their voice. Add additional trauma to the picture and it like you said, really isn’t sci-fi at all. We have the same basic needs but culture can be so completely different even a couple hundred miles away. What a nice way to encourage acceptance of our perceived shortcomings.

      Like

Leave a Reply

